1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Echinacea

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by Sparky1985, Mar 11, 2012.

1. Having been plagued by a virus and generally being rundown for a while I have just bought some echinacea....does anyone use this? Is it really good at boosting immune systems? I have never used it before but a few colleagues swear by it- looking for more recommendations as those people are also very health conscious in that they exercise lots every day and eat healthily all the time which also would help their immune system whereas I exercise regularly but not intensely or daily and my diet while balanced does have junk food in it as snacks (which I know are bad for me so no judgement please!)

2. Having been plagued by a virus and generally being rundown for a while I have just bought some echinacea....does anyone use this? Is it really good at boosting immune systems? I have never used it before but a few colleagues swear by it- looking for more recommendations as those people are also very health conscious in that they exercise lots every day and eat healthily all the time which also would help their immune system whereas I exercise regularly but not intensely or daily and my diet while balanced does have junk food in it as snacks (which I know are bad for me so no judgement please!)

3. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

It seems to work for me - but who knows, it could be coincidence or luck?

It's one that you have to take for 2-3 weeks, then stop taking it for a while as the effects wear off. Picking when you start taking is is the tricky bit! Start of term... whenever someone close has a cold.... that sort of thing.