1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

EBD

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by scottdog32, Mar 22, 2012.

1. I work in an EBD school. Its my first time working in this kind of
    environment so I want to get a bigger picture of EBDs or whether my
    school is the same as everywhere else and this is just the way it is?
    For example what punishments or consequence systems are in place elsewhere? Do pupils get excluded or suspended?
    Im
    getting very frustrated because at our school there seems to be no
    consequence or punishment for extremely bad behaviour? We have a non
    exclusion policy so regardless of what the pupils do they will never be
    excluded. Its like I go to work everyday to be threatened, beaten up and
    disempowered. We use a restrain technique (PRICE) but it has been
    accepted by the Head and Managers that we have two pupils (we have 19
    pupils in total) that we cannot use this on, as they are too strong and
    too big. So at the moment these pupils can do what they like and there
    is no consequence. Is anyone else somewhere like this?
    I dont want to go back to work on Monday..

2. I work in an EBD school. Its my first time working in this kind of
    environment so I want to get a bigger picture of EBDs or whether my
    school is the same as everywhere else and this is just the way it is?
    For example what punishments or consequence systems are in place elsewhere? Do pupils get excluded or suspended?
    Im
    getting very frustrated because at our school there seems to be no
    consequence or punishment for extremely bad behaviour? We have a non
    exclusion policy so regardless of what the pupils do they will never be