1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Early years teacher moving into Key stage 2

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Charlie341, Jul 28, 2011.

1. I'm a trained Early years teacher and have never had any experience of Key stage 2, however I am teaching Year 3 for the first time this year. Could anyone offer me any advice or useful links/planning formats as I feel I'm being thrown in at the deep end! I'm doing a 1 week topic on stained glass windows in churches. Then I'm moving onto poetry featuring the hare and the tortoise and focusing my art teaching around drawing animals. If anyone could respond with some useful information that would be great!!!

2. Maths: You can get objectives and examples of level of questions from the old framework. You could use documents like moving level 2-3 and securing level 3. There is also the pitch and expectations document that might help. You can get these and other things that will help with your maths teaching at www.ness.uk.com The myths and legends website is really good as well - you can listen to the stories online (in a book format) and children can make their own online story with pictures and text - lovely for KS2. Can't remember the address but it's in the ness site links page.

3. Twinkles

Twinkles New commenter

Can I join this club please? Moving from YR/1/2 to Y4/5/6 and.....I'm terrified. Don't even know what to put on the walls, let alone what to teach - wish I could share the head's confidence that I can do the job!