1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Early Years MMS

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by August11, Nov 22, 2011.

1. We are an outstanding school with good maths results who have taken on the MMS programme.
    Our Foundation Stage was highly praised by OFSTED for our creative practice and our knowledge of individual children.
    I am an Early Years teacher and after attending two days MMS Training had MANY reservations about this programme particularly in the Early Years.
    It is recognised good practise in EYFS to work from the children (the Unique Child), to follow their interests and to make learning opportunities fun and engaging in all aspects of the curriculum. MMS is dull, prescriptive and is not based on real life situations.
    The Reception Folder contains activities and worksheets relating to adult precribed topics. The presentation and content of the worksheets is like going back 10 years. In week one we count to three and later in the block we suddenly jump to thirty with very little in between. Whereas currently we use a range of resources and practical activities planned with the childern to engage them and develop their learning, the content of the folder is uninspiring to say the least.
    We have spent many hours totally rewriting the content in an attempt to deliver the messages in a way that is more appropriate to Early Years children.

We don't have a choice we have to deliver it. The atmosphere in our school amongst staff is now strained. 5 year olds are sitting in rows chanting (or eating cups!!), Able children are now confused, less able children are filling out worksheets that they don't understand ( they don't know their numbers to 10 but are 'adding' 100's.)