1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Early Years Apprentership Level 3 - Theoretical Perspectives on Reflection in Personal Development

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by dougdella25, Mar 30, 2019.

1. dougdella25

dougdella25 New commenter

Hi, I am currently studying an apprenticeship for early years and the last question is to discuss on an online forum, how to summarise theoretical perspectives on reflection in relation to professional development. My thoughts below:

After researching the theoretical perspectives on professional development, there are two main theories that have influenced peoples understanding of the reflection process and the theorists are Kolb and Gibbs.

Kolb produced a learning cycle which helps reflect our learning, which is useful in an early years setting as we need to reflect on the work which we do so that we can improve in our skills and our own development which in turn will help with the children’s development.

Kolb created a four process cycle to help with our effective learning:

Concrete Experience – this means doing something, having the experience e.g. this could be doing a focus activity with individual children, one at a time:

Reflective observation – this is about thinking about the experience, which we have just done e.g. reviewing the focus activity and thinking of what went well and want didn’t go so well with the activity.

Abstract Conceptualisation – this is about thinking of new ideas e.g. thinking of new strategies on how to extend the activity to achieve the best outcome.