1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Early Years!!!! AAAAARGH!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by sian.organ, Jun 17, 2019.

1. sian.organ

sian.organ New commenter

I have been a TA for nearly 20 years, nearly all of it in upper KS2. I am currently working with a great Yr4 team, undertaking all the usual including PPA cover, but from next year I am having to join the Reception team. I work part-time as does another TA who is secondary trained and is being forced to go to Nursery! I never asked to work part-time but that was the job that was advertised 5 years ago. I have no Early Years experience and the thought of it fills me with complete dread and terror. I really am not an 'Early Years Person'!!!!! As with all schools the school is suffering from small budgetitis and I am beginning to feel as though I am being made to resign my post, in a very underhand way (constructive dismissal?) as the Head Teacher is fully aware of my point of view. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Supplylady likes this.
  2. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Lead commenter

I seriously don't think the HT wants you to resign - a TA with 20 years experience who is happy to cover PPA is too valuable. And you say a secondary trained TA is being moved to nursery - I'm sure the Head doesn't want you both to go.
    Budget cuts are biting hard everywhere. No-one has been made redundant at our school, but we haven't replaced TAs who have left for a few years now, so our numbers are greatly reduced and staff often have to move 'out of their comfort zone'. There isn't always a TA full-time in every class now. It's happening everywhere.