1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Early retirement help needed….

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by epjundi, Jan 27, 2018.

1. epjundi

epjundi New commenter

Hi all

I am looking at my options at the end of this academic year summer 2018.

I have been teaching since 1985 and had one break in my pension contributions 2011-12 whilst working abroad. My salary as a HOD prior to 2011 was considerably higher than my present teacher salary.

I really want my pension to be based on the 3 consecutive years 2008-11 which I guess means taking early retirement summer 2018, I will be nearly 58 then.

The problem is I actually enjoy my job (within reason as I have less responsibility and stress) and would like to stay on till aged 60. This would I assume mean my pension would start to reduce, and be based on my current lower salary….I am right to think this?

Not sure if I should retire this summer and take my pension and perhaps look for supply/part time work ( I would need to earn a similar salary to my present one)

A colleague mentioned I could freeze my pension this summer and carry on working in my present job till I was 60….would that mean it would still be based on my salary from 2008-11 with no percentage reduction if I worked till 60.

Or can I take my pension this summer and continue working in my present position….hmmmm that would mean getting my pension and earning my present salary.

I know it’s very complicated so any help and advice would be greatly appreciated:)

2. ikon66

ikon66 Occasional commenter