1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

EAL

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by suffolksmiler, Apr 9, 2016.

1. suffolksmiler

suffolksmiler New commenter

Any good advice, resources, books or courses to support EAL pupils in Nursery.
    I have lots of pupils from a variety of countries, not just one, for instance Poland.

Joined a new school in September but previously not had much experience of EAL.
    I have been teaching in Early years since 1995, so I don't lack common sense but all advice welcome.

Thank you.

2. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter

In Nursery they will pick up English very quickly when they are in an English rich environment (especially if there aren't many others who speak their language).

Encourage them to use spoken language as much as possible. Of course at first they won't have much vocabulary, but you can encourage repetition of words and phrases. Say things like, "It's an apple. Say 'apple'!" This encourages vocabulary building through active participation, rather than the child hearing a whole jumble of words he doesn't understand and switching off. If possible, try to find out how to say "Say..." in the child's language, so that the child understands what you want him to do.