1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dyslexia and Dysgraphis

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by BunsandRoses, Jul 9, 2015.

1. Hi all,

This is me with my parent hat on. My 8 yo son has recently been diagnosed with Dyslexia, Dysgraphia and significant working memory issues. It has been along and hard battle to get this far. His school SENCO is recently in position with no experience or training, and to be honest, i feel they dont have a clue. As a teacher myself I can empathise with their position, but as a parent i cant just sit back and let them bodge through my sons IEP next year. I want to arrange a meeting for as early as possible in the academic year and i want to arrive with as many "Solutions" as i can rather than just moan about the problems. To give and example of how clueless they are: they have been withdrawing my son for small group phonics work once a week (His spelling is really bad), in a meeting i asked where my sons phonics weaknesses are so i could help at home..... the reply was... well we havent assessed his baseline phonics skill. I asked what they have been doing, rote learning the same spellings as his peers.... which hasnt been working! Another example is the OT report suggested alternative methods of recording his ideas, so they gave him a computer in the corner of the room and told him to type out his ideas, his is 8 and doesnt know how to type... he just sits there staring at the keyboard. He has been struggling for years with his issues and by now is totally turned off from school.... which has lead him to doing anything he can to avoid work! I want to be a helpful parent... any suggestions of things i could raise? Even any ICT packages i coul