1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Duty of Care vs Alleged Betrayal

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by chrisa86, Feb 12, 2011.

1. chrisa86

chrisa86 New commenter

I am a teacher working at the school where my girlfriend's little sister (14) attends.

Recently there have been issues with the sister who has had sex with a 17 year old (he was her boyfriend believe it or not!)

Now my girlfriend told me this information and I was really unsure whether I needed to pass it on to the AHT in charge of pastoral stuff. I really debated about whether to mention this to the school - the parents knew, but still did I have a legal obligation to say? I didn't want to be classed as unprofessional for withholding serious information about a pupil.

Obviously I wouldn't have even hesitated if it was an average pupil in the school, it was because I knew her personally and knew the parents were already aware (obviously they didn't condone what she had done though.)

Long story short the parents are FURIOUS and I'm not really certain why, the school weren't taking it further, but apparently I have "betrayed family secrets". Surely it was my duty to pass this information on? Or am I in the wrong?

2. wrldtrvlr123

wrldtrvlr123 Occasional commenter

Was the sister having sex with the 17 year old at school? If not, I'm not clear on the legal/professional requirement to bring it to the school's attention. What were they going to do with/about the information that the girl is sexually active? Maybe I'm missing something.
    If so, I'm sure others will point it out. [​IMG]

3. wrldtrvlr123