1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dubai Teaching Salaries

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by lay2005, Apr 3, 2007.

1. Could anyone tell me how teaching salaries in Dubai compare with the UK? I'm a Yr 2 teacher on M3 at the moment but from what I've seen, the Dubai salaries seem to be significantly lower, even when you take the tax into account. Any advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)

2. Could anyone tell me how teaching salaries in Dubai compare with the UK? I'm a Yr 2 teacher on M3 at the moment but from what I've seen, the Dubai salaries seem to be significantly lower, even when you take the tax into account. Any advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)

3. PuRe

PuRe New commenter

Hi,
    I have seen salaries from 7K dhs to 15K dhs. Different schools pay differently. its like I have seen school supplied accomodation to allowance to shared!

Which ones have you been looking at? Good schools tend to pay the same as UK after tax or near.

PuRe

4. Thanks!
    I'm glad to hear that the pay goes higher than 7k dhs...that was the salary advertised with 1 KS1 job!

Do you think most schools will have finished recruiting for Sept '07?

5. PuRe

PuRe New commenter

there are a few on TES I think, you could try on their websites.

I hope this helps

PuRe

6. Maybe you should register with the Search Associates and attend their job fair in london in may as well as keep applying independently.
    To be perfectly honest, Dubai is over rated and over priced. Jobs in the high paying schools are obviously hard to come by and usually filled be people already in Dubai / UAE. You should also consider other Emirates, Qatar, and Cairo.