1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dubai or not Dubai? With kids...PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by jkhanom, Feb 3, 2012.

1. jkhanom

jkhanom New commenter

My purpose of this blog is to enquire about any future prospects. I am a fully qualified modern languages teacher with French and Spanish being my subjects. I have three years experience and am able to teach both subjects to A level. Please can you tell me what my realistic salary expectations should be in Dubai for such a candidate and whereabouts you would live as teachers with families as I have 2 children ages 6 and 2. Basically what is the housing like that they provide.PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Minimum salary would be around 11000AED/month. Some schools will offer accommodation allowance, others will offer a 2 or 3 bed apartment and others will give you a villa. Depends on the school and it also depends on whether you're a male or female. The flats and villas the schools offer out there are usually really good, each building has it's own pool and gym. Many teachers with families live in Arabian Ranches, Silicon Oasis, the Greens or as far out as Mirdif but again, it depends which school you'd be going to as some of those areas are quite far from some schools and quite near others. PM me if you're thinking of a specific school and I can give you an answer a bit more specific than this one!

3. stopwatch

stopwatch Established commenter

.... and get rid of all those !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. Any more info on Dubai for families warmly appreciated.

5. lovely.lady

lovely.lady Occasional commenter