1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dubai English Teacher Advice/Help required

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Dave2004, Jul 27, 2019.

1. Dave2004

Dave2004 New commenter

Hi, I was wondering if anyone with experience teaching English in Dubai would be able to give me some advice. I'm thinking of moving to Dubai from Tokyo to continue teaching my language to others.

I have been teaching English abroad for just over 15 years although, I do not have any formal qualifications yet, I have an abundance of references from both Spain and Japan, where I've been working.

Is it possible to get employment in Dubai without formal qualifications, with experience being the measure?

Appreciate any responses or links to the existing threads on the matter.

2. PuRe

PuRe Occasional commenter

Daves ESL cafe might be useful, but I can’t imagine that your package (if any) would be great to live on.

Maybe someone more knowledgeable could stir you in the right direction.

3. february31st

february31st Established commenter

Your chances are the same as a snowball in hell of securing a high quality well paying job in Dubai without any formal qualifications!

4. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Yes, I think that I must echo the rather negative comments made so far. A CELTA would be a good start and it takes about a month to get one. If the OP really wants a regular job at a recognized school, then an iPGCE might be the way to go. It is not as a good as a "real" PGCE, alas, but better than nothing.

5. Mr_Frosty

Mr_Frosty Established commenter

I know of someone with a CELTA only working in a school here and making decent money - I think 13k+ housing.