1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dubai and kids. I want to move to Dubai with my sons to join my husband.

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by beatamizi, Mar 30, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I just wanted some advice on moving to Dubai with kids.
    I have been teaching for 7 years and currently have Second in Department position.
    My husband is already there working. We have two kids 6 and 8.
    I was wondering if anyone has moved to Dubai with kids? How is the schooling, is it provided and paid for by school? And what about the accommodation, we currently have a lovely house with massive garden in beatiful Hertfordshire. Is there different accomodation for families with kids? How would the kids get to schools?
    My husband is there for over a year, and this is having impact on our boys, they miss him too much, so I have decided to move there.
    What can I expect to earn based on my experience? I am currently on MPS6 plus TLR 2b, so is it worth it?
    I am willing to give it a shot, but worried if kids will cope with the heat and the acommodation. Can anyone offer some advice?
    Thanks

2. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Lead commenter

I'm confused; last month you posted -
    Have you had a very sudden reconciliation?

3. Hi, thanks for your reply.
    My husband is not a teacher, he works in hotel business. He was offered job in Dubai, and with current job market in UK it was to hard to refuse.