1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

DTLLS Route

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by connie-91, Jun 1, 2016.

?

What route did you take to gain QTS?

Poll closed Jun 8, 2016.
  1. DTLLS & QTS separately

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. PGCE

100.0%
  1. connie-91

connie-91 New commenter

Hi all,

I was wondering whether anyone else had gotten into teaching via the DTLLS route?

I currently teach in a secure unit and I have my PTLLS Level 4 qualification. In addition to this I have my TAQA Level 3 and IQA Level 4 qualification however I am aware that this leads to assessing routes rather than teaching routes. I am currently studying an English Language and Creative writing degree with the Open University however I have my English Literature and Language A-Level.

My current employer is going to fund my DTLLS qualification and after a bit of research I found that after completing this you can opt to do you QTS. I was wondering whether anyone else had gone down this route and whether it's caused any issues with finding employment as a fully qualified teacher (as I'm aware this is not the typical route).

My original plan was to do my PGCE however I do not want to take a wage cut in order to do this. It's not something that is practical at this minute.

Any advice would be highly appreciated!

2. bob79

bob79 Occasional commenter

Hello, I was under the impression that a PGCE meant you did not have to update your qual, whereas with DTTLs you did - this would be the reason why I would do the PGCE. I may be wrong so apologies if I am!

3. ruby_clift

ruby_clift New commenter

Connie-91,