1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Drug charge over summer, suspended, prospects?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Jiimmii, Sep 5, 2016.

1. Jiimmii

Jiimmii New commenter

I've been teaching for two years at the same school I had a student placement.

Over the summer I received a caution for class A possession.

Story: On the way into a festival with my girlfriend our car was stopped by the police who asked if we had any drugs in the car. We said yes, I was placed under arrest and given the caution, then let out two hours later. I had 4 ecstasy pills for personal use.

I texted an assistant head who told my head, who I then met during the last week of august at school. My room was ready for the chn to arrive. She suspended me with pay pending an investigation, which, she let me know, will take at least three months. My union rep lambasted me for telling my head in the first place, I'm pretty sure it's an offence to not declare something like that but the union rep seems old school. He's spoken with my head since I was suspended and told me the head seems like she knows how the investigation will go and that she doesn't want me back at all. The HR rep for the borough is back this week when the investigation will proceed. I'm concerned that she will choose to fire me for gross misconduct immediately rather than drawing out an investigation. During our meeting last week she described the whole, long process. Since then and upon further discussion with the union rep, it seems like she would rather I disappear quickly.