1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Drive a minibus

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by Mat1990, Dec 5, 2011.

1. I am a 21 year old trainee sports teacher and consequently it would be really useful for future job prospects if I was qualified to drive minibuses.
    Can you tell me what I need to do to be able to drive minibuses?

2. I am a 21 year old trainee sports teacher and consequently it would be really useful for future job prospects if I was qualified to drive minibuses.
    Can you tell me what I need to do to be able to drive minibuses?

3. TCSC47

TCSC47 Lead commenter

Firstly, all you need to drive a mini bus is an ordinary car driving licence. However, your school, college or LEA that you work for, will require you to take a test of competence of some sort, which they would organise for you. I don't know what the current standard is that would be required because I got mine so long ago!
    There may also be a requirement from the college's insurance that drivers are over 25 or so, which I have seen.
    It would make a good question to ask at job interviews. You are keen to participate in out of school hours activities. You have a full, clean, driving licence (I hope you have). Does the school have access to a minibus for such activities and what would you need to do to be allowed to drive it? Sounds keen!

4. Here is a link to information that you might find useful:

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Motoring/DriverLicensing/WhatCanYouDriveAndYourObligations/DG_4022619

5. baitranger

baitranger Occasional commenter