1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dreading Year 2.

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by MissKDH, Aug 27, 2011.

1. Hi! I'm a mature student on a 4 year KS2/3 Science Ed course at Brighton Uni. I'm divorced and have a 6 year old daughter. Last year we both coped better than I'd expected with uni. I commute for an hour either way on the trains into uni, 9am lectures were the hardest as we'd have to leave home at 7am, dropping my daughter off at a friends so I could catch a 7.30 train. I was having driving lessons, but quickly realised I just couldn't afford to run a car.

My first year placement, an 8 week block was a nightmare. I made my total situation very clear to the uni; yet despite there being 8 primary schools in my town-two literally over the road from me (and I know they had students last year) I got placed in one miles away, again meaning hellish early starts for my daughter (who was 5 at the time). I complained to my course leader who was very unsympathetic and I was told I'd have to do it, or quit. She even gave me a lecture on how she did her training with 2 children, and I reminded her that she's married....Even the teachers at the school I'd been placed in couldn't believe how far I was expected to travel given the fact that a) I don't drive and b) I have a small child. I'm really worried about my secondary placement next January as there are are only 2 secondary schools in the town-the rest in the neighbouring towns are very much off the beaten track.