1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Drama

Discussion in 'Primary' started by dominikasanetra1995, Nov 19, 2017.

1. dominikasanetra1995

dominikasanetra1995 New commenter

Hello!

I am a trainee teacher and I will be teaching a drama lesson next week to a Y2 class.
    After lots of discussion they will have 15 minutes to create their own drama scene (which I will model so they're basically just adapting it).
    When they present their scene, I would like the other children to be doing something. There will be 4 groups in total and i am guessing by group 2 a lot of the children will switch off. Is there a task I can set them to keep them on track while their friends are presenting their scene?

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Film the scenes they are watching?
    Fill in a tick sheet for peer assessment?

Keep the scenes VERY short so groups don't switch off.
    15 mins is quite a long time to create a scene, but if the final one is only about 2-3 mins long, Y2 should be able to concentrate throughout.

3. ElizaMorrell

ElizaMorrell Occasional commenter

I taught year 2 for a while and I found that, as long as the performance time was short, they tend to keep interest.

If you group them well they bounce off each other as well, which can create good comedy. It's the one time I would put friends together because they will feel more comfortable and come up with something more entertaining.