1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Drama workshops for primary pupils

Discussion in 'Drama and performing arts' started by debhogan, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Hello
    I was wondering whether anyone could advise. I am a Year 5 class teacher tasked with planning (with a view to implementing in a few weeks) the drama element of our year group's Collaborative Arts week. The theme is the Olympics and I have sketched out a plan for the week. The week will incorporate planning, creating, rehearsal and performance. I will have approximately 8-10 hours work of actual sessions (with approximately 30 children). I am an NQT and don't really have any prior experience of putting on a school performance.

My idea is to have 5 separate "scenes" from different Olympic eras: Ancient Greece, 1st modern Olympics, 1st Olympics at which women could compete, 1939 Berlin, lead up to London 2012. I am envisaging that there will be a roving reporter type character who will narrate and conduct interviews with the characters. The scenes themselves will be silent.

My issue is with planning each of the sessions that will contribute to the final piece. I believe that each session will be 1 hour long (interspersed by regular lessons). I am thinking that some of these sessions need to be on actual acting skills and creating the scenes themselves - this is where I would value specific advise as I am not trained in drama and performance. How much of the prep work will I need to do myself in terms of researching the period and deciding how the information should be conveyed in play form, and how much can I expect the pupils to be able to achieve?

Any thoughts or ideas gratefully received.
    Best wishes,

2. Hello