1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Downsizing my career...

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by cannonjc01, May 4, 2011.

1. I currently work as a Phase Leader and Literacy Leader in a two form entry primary school. Although I have my regular PPA time each week, there is very little time allowed to fulfil my management roles. I find therefore that more and more of my time at home is taken up with school work. As the father of two young teenagers, I feel I want to spend more time with them (as they do with me) so I have begun looking for alternative posts with less responsibility.
    As I am UPS2 and therefore quite expensive, how will prospective employers look upon my downsizing from TLR2a back to regular classteacher? How do I go about explaining my decision? Will I be thought less of for wanting to redress my worklife balance? Basically, what advice can you give me to make me 'more employable'?
    Looking forward to your thoughts...

2. I currently work as a Phase Leader and Literacy Leader in a two form entry primary school. Although I have my regular PPA time each week, there is very little time allowed to fulfil my management roles. I find therefore that more and more of my time at home is taken up with school work. As the father of two young teenagers, I feel I want to spend more time with them (as they do with me) so I have begun looking for alternative posts with less responsibility.