1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Don't want this client!

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by numberwhizz, May 4, 2012.

1. I am a successful tutor with a long waiting list.

I have had at the top of my waiting list a family with two children, for nearly a year. With the exams approaching I am soon going to have spaces, but I really don't want to proceed with this family.

They first contacted me because they are friends of an acquaintance of mine. From the initial phone call I got the impression that the Mother was very demanding - the gist of her words were that she wanted to meet me 'to tell me how they wanted things done'!

I contacted them again a couple of weeks ago to offer a space. I had to chase them again to confirm or refuse the space as they did not respond.

Then I got quite a curt email from the mother saying they wanted the space but demanding that I make the time a bit earlier in the evening (I had already explained that I only work from 6.30pm due to having children of my own). She also demanded that I give them a discount as she had two children attending (at separate times) insisting that this was standard practice, and a further discount because the younger one is only in Year 7. I politely explained that the times and prices were set, reminding her that I have a waiting list so don't feel the need to offer discounts. It was really the tone of her email rather than the requests that annoyed me.

I asked her to let me know by Thursday if she wanted the place. I heard nothing for 3 days and very last thing Wednesday evening (11pm) she sent me an email sating they want the place, despite being disappointed with the price etc - why leave it until the last minute?!!!