1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Done two years overseas- what's it like to move back?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by missb87, Feb 17, 2016.

1. missb87

missb87 New commenter

Hello,
    I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this in but here goes...

I'm a fully qualified teacher, I taught for 3 years in England and have spent the past one and a half years teaching in S.E.Asia.
    I'm now considering what to do in September. Part of me wants to return to England but I have two reservations- career and social aspects.
    Career- Has teaching abroad had a negative effect on your CV? Or do employers look on it favourably? Or does it depend how it's worded?
    When returning, did you feel 'out of touch'? And how did you handle the increased workload?

As for the social aspect- I am slightly worried that I will find it hard to make friends again, in my experience, the expat community out here as been quite welcoming! I'm also worried that I may find England cold/boring (I'm used to going abroad for every school holiday!).

I know this is quite a lot to ask but any experiences you can share (positive or negative) would be really interesting.

Thank you!

2. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

I think you'll find that most people on the forum, as they're on the forum, have stayed overseas.

If you like the social aspect so much and are worried about the UK workload, why would you return?

1 person likes this.
  3. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

Hi missb87!