1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Doing examination in theory of music, Yes or No?

Discussion in 'Music' started by amyade1, Nov 11, 2018.

1. amyade1

amyade1 New commenter

I am a new teacher working with music department in my school. I have a passion to develop my interest in this subject. At the moment there is a debate going on about doing examination in theory of music or not at KS3 level and the argument is surrounding the fact that music is a practical subject, which is making me feel so much confuse as it goes on. I believe strongly that, it should not be scraped as there is no way this part of music will not affect those who (as little as they may be) will want to proceed with it later in future

Could someone please shed more light on this to help me, as I said before I am getting more confuse as the days go by and the deliberations continued.

Thanks

2. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter

I haven’t heard of a school making all KS3 pupils take an official theory exam, if that’s what you mean.
    Theory can be introduced through practical, creative music-making. For example, pupils might be making up a piece of creepy music for Halloween and you may introduce them to the sound and notation of the chromatic scale. You may introduce them to dissonant intervals which could be used in the piece. You may discuss dynamics, tempo, pitch etc.
    Some theory may be appropriate if it links with a creative project, and I believe all pupils should be taught how to read basic music so there is some understanding of what the dots on the page are - just as we teach them to read basic words in a foreign language - but the pupils must feel a sense of purpose in what they are doing.