1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Doing a pgcse to avoid the recession

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Albawolf, Jun 4, 2020.

1. Albawolf

Albawolf New commenter

Hello

I turned 23 last month and currently going through an early quarter life crisis. I feel like my life is nothing is but a failure. I am not where i am supposed to be. I should be in a career , having a partner and a place of my own. I am just a loser who is unemployed, single and living at home with family.

Most of the pressure tends to come from me .

I graduated 11 months ago with a 2.1 degree in law. I dont want to be a solictor . I have been unemployed ever since. The bigger the cv gap the less employers will want you.

I get rejected from minimum wage jobs and everything else. There is nothing for me and i feel like it too late for me to turn things around.

I am worried about covid 19 and the recession. I am losing sleep over this. I fear i will never have a career . No one is hiring due to covid 19 and i will live through the worst recession.

I am attracted to teaching because it so in demand and secure in comparison to other professions.

A lot of my friends are doing a pgcse.

Teaching is a vocation and is an extremely difficult job. Teaching is a respected career.

I am not young anymore and i need to be settled in a career and a relationship.

I have no options in life so i see teaching as the only clear option and safe option.

Is it wise to do a pgcse to keep safe from recession?

What happens to people who went in to teaching during the 2008 recession ?

Sorry for the typos my thoughts are racing .

2. 43Meadows

43Meadows New commenter

Hi