1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Doing a PGCE for Primary Education and changing to Secondary...

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by talksr, Jan 23, 2011.

1. Hello, I have been working in large London primaries for over 5 years as an ICT network manager. I have been very interested in doing a PGCE in primary teaching for years and find the idea of teaching very rewarding and enjoyable.
    My question is, if I were to do a PGCE in primary teaching, at a later date, would I be qualified to teach in a secondary? Obviously my PGCE in primary would be for all subject areas, but for secondary, I would only be interested in teaching ICT (I got a first in Computer Science).
    Any info/advice would be greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

2. Hello, I have been working in large London primaries for over 5 years as an ICT network manager. I have been very interested in doing a PGCE in primary teaching for years and find the idea of teaching very rewarding and enjoyable.
    My question is, if I were to do a PGCE in primary teaching, at a later date, would I be qualified to teach in a secondary? Obviously my PGCE in primary would be for all subject areas, but for secondary, I would only be interested in teaching ICT (I got a first in Computer Science).
    Any info/advice would be greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

3. PGCE courses result in the award of qualified teacher status. Once you are awarded QTS, you are effectively qualified to teach at both primary and secondary levels, regardless of the phase that you trained for.