1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Doing a MFL PGCE but would like to teach abroad in future; is that compatible??

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by jemmett91, Jul 16, 2015.

1. Doing a French and Spanish PGCE and would love to teach in France/Spain/Italy in future. I am new to all of this and so was just wondering if international schools in those countries would be interested in me or is MFL not as compatible?

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

In Spain there are probably lots of Spanish teachers who could teach Spanish. Ditto France. Sorry if this seems to be a tad unhelpful! Yes, being an international teacher is great (I have been doing it since 1998). Best of luck, whatever you decide to do!

3. miketribe

miketribe Established commenter

It's true that all the Spanish and French teachers I know here in Madrid are native speakers. I think you'd be lucky to find a job, unless you did something like a CELTA and offered EFL as well...

4. Angelil

Angelil Occasional commenter

In my experience they are unlikely to be interested as they tend to take native speakers only for these posts...rightly or wrongly! I have taught in an international school in Paris for nearly 7 years, and the French department staff are Francophone, the English department staff are Anglophone, the Spanish department staff are Spanish native speakers, the Japanese/Korean teachers are native speakers of these languages...and so on. This seems to be the case in many establishments.

5. nemo.

nemo. Occasional commenter