1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Does your school have a written policy on working in the same school your child attends?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by cheesecakelover76, Jun 14, 2019.

1. cheesecakelover76

cheesecakelover76 New commenter

i work in the same school my son attends. My school does not have a policy on parents being employees and i am finding it increasingly difficult to make the school realise i have two roles and they need to understand i am a parent too.

Has anyone else had this issue? Can anyone advise on a good policy or document i could at least read? How has anyone else coped in this predicament. I don't teach i am an administrator and ive been at the school since 2012.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Would probably not help you to read a 'blanket policy' as your School would certainly have its own approach,

in my experience people at the same school as their children tend to concentrate on their role within school and 'distance' themselves from school and the child by asking for any queries / referrals etc. to go straight to another 'caretaker/ parent etc of the child.

3. atwoodfan

atwoodfan New commenter

We don't have a formal policy, but do have staff (including admin) who are in your position. You certainly could ask for a policy to be created, but equally you could try some of the below:
    - if your OH is an involved parent, you could ask staff to use them as first point of contact (and use OH when you as parents want to ask questions / raise issues)
    - with a smile repeatedly ask staff to contact you as they would any other parent i.e. by email / telephone at the appropriate point