1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Does the ATL really fight for your rights?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Frank_Hank, May 17, 2016.

1. Frank_Hank

Frank_Hank New commenter

I am having doubts about my union, ATL. I am a teacher with a mental health disability and I am made redundant. I am challenging it. My first rep seemed to think I had a good case on the grounds of discrimination (I wont go into details) of how the selection was made. Unfortunately my 1st rep has gone on holiday for 3 weeks and I now have a new rep who is very downbeat about it all. I am becoming increasingly depressed. I have been off sick since the first meeting with the governors. Does anyone else have experience of the ATL in similar cases? Do they have the stomach to fight my case or should I look elsewhere for help?

2. rooney1

rooney1 Occasional commenter

If you are not happy with your regional rep speak to head office. My ATL rep was very good and really supported me over and above. However had the union become involved more quickly when I first asked for help the situation I ended up with might never have happened. I had to do quite a lot of chasing at head office to get support but my rep was great.

pepper5 likes this.
  3. Frank_Hank

Frank_Hank New commenter

Thank you, Rooney.

4. marymoocow

marymoocow Star commenter