1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Does having an MA in English Lit benefit teaching prospects in any way?

Discussion in 'English' started by vthompson977, Jun 8, 2011.

1. I've been teaching for 5 years and have just enrolled in a MEd despite always saying I would do a MA in English Lit or nothing else. My reasons are simple! I love English Lit, but I teach 11-16 English Language so it is not that relevant to my career, compared to a MEd which covers a wider range of school-related issues. I also worry that the time needed to complete a MA would infringe upon my job and already stretched free time - at least with the MEd a lot of it is work based. Then there's the cost.... (whereas the MEd is subsidised...)
    Now, you haven't started teaching yet which means you probably have fewer restrictions. If you love Lit and can afford it, do it. It won't damage your prospects at all and in fact it *may* help you get onto a PGCE course. I know that in NI PGCE's are heavily oversubscribed. I know of people doing a MEd to get on to the PGCE and it is proving VERY difficult for them as they don't have the experience needed (unless you're a qualified teacher you can't teach here). But I'd agree with thequillguy - it probably won't impress on a CV.