1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do you use artefacts in your history lessons?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by teachers-pet, Feb 6, 2008.

1. teachers-pet

teachers-pet New commenter

Hello!

I'm in my 4th year of training currently researching my disseratation and would appreciate any comments you have on the subjct!

I'm looking at how teachers use artefacts in their history lessons. How often do you use artefacts? Where do you get them from? If you don't use them, why is?

Thanks in advance!

2. teachers-pet

Hello!

I'm in my 4th year of training currently researching my disseratation and would appreciate any comments you have on the subjct!

I'm looking at how teachers use artefacts in their history lessons. How often do you use artefacts? Where do you get them from? If you don't use them, why is?

Thanks in advance!

3. Sometimes children are able to bring in artefacts from grandparents etc e.g. army uniforms, gas masks. This kind of ends up being a show-and-tell type session, where the kid explains what they know and I elaborate on the historical detail. Other than that I use no artefacts as we have none.

4. teachers-pet

I thought that could be an issue!

I am going to ask schools in my area whether they ever borrow artefacts from museums or local authorities.

A big issue regarding bringing things in from home in my local area is that most children's families didn't live here during the war. They don't have ration books, gas masks etc. The things they could bring in don't usually match topics in schools.

5. We used to borrow them from local museum but it was expensive and often you only one or two items in the box were actually useful.