1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do you take your belongings?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by cindycavazos16, Jul 14, 2019 at 3:21 AM.

1. cindycavazos16

cindycavazos16 New commenter

I am just beginning to consider teaching abroad. I have a lot of questions but one I’m wondering about now is do people take their belongings/furniture? Or do you store everything back home?

2. 576

576 Established commenter

Varies.
    Some pack and ship everything.
    Some store most stuff at home.
    Some sell everything.

I did a bit of all, sold, gave away, donated to charity everytime I move.
    I have some stuff stored in my parents' loft.
    I have some stuff that I take with me overseas.

cindycavazos16 likes this.
  3. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

We're the same as 576.

4. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

You will be amazed at what you dont need...sell everything

cindycavazos16 and afterdark like this.
  5. tb9605

tb9605 Occasional commenter

Same as 586.

I guess it depends on how big your parents' or siblings' attics are! It also makes a difference if you own your own house in the UK and are able to rent it out furnished or not - we were, so a lot of our furniture stayed. It will also depend on your relocation allowance, how long you envisage yourself staying in one place and whether you have kids (who always seem to have far more stuff and be more attached to it than adults).

mermy and cindycavazos16 like this.
  6. moscowbore

moscowbore Senior commenter

Depends where you are going. Some countries impose huge import duty on anything you transport so shipping is just too expensive.

7. motorhomer

motorhomer New commenter