1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do you plan for guided reading?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Isotope824, Feb 23, 2012.

1. Hi,

I'm a year 3 teacher, and this academic year we have started doing guided reading twice a week (once with teacher, once with TA). We have a limited number of guided reading books available in school, and so we ended up finishing them all by the October half term.

Since then, my parallel teacher and I have been borrowing books from the LA's professional centre. Our head is not happy about this, though, as she says we're not planning what to ask the children- the novels have no teaching guided to go along with them.

We're not happy to have to do additional planning, but as the school is limited in funds we can't get more guided reading scheme books either. I'm quite happy to ad lib questions to ask the children as we progress through the book, but the head thinks it all needs to be scripted.

What do other schools do about this? Are there any simple solutions I'm missing?

Thanks [​IMG]

2. McLauz

McLauz New commenter

Yes we plan guided reading like we would any other subject. I'm doing a 'fiction focus' at the moment which means all my guided reading groups are reading a novel. I borrow the books from the schools library service or try to put a set together from what we have in school or borrowing off other teachers.
    The planning does take a long time. I have year 5 so two of my groups are reading quite chunky texts. I read all the books before hand, (3 groups) make up questions/ tasks to go with each chapter and try to ensure the questions cover all the AFs by the end of the novel.
    Hope this helps!