1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I stand a chance?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by weasel1974, Jan 8, 2016.

1. weasel1974

weasel1974 New commenter

Hi All,

I'm a 41 year old married man with 2 young children (1 and 3). I have a BSc in Maths and a PGCE in secondary Maths. I've been teaching successfully in the UK for the last 13 years.

I'm hoping to get a job teaching Maths in China/Thailand (any international school that has the right package) and I'm just wondering if I am likely to be a viable candidate. My issue is that although my wife is also an experienced teacher, she wants to spend time with our children and therefore would not be working (at least for the next year or so). Is this likely to lead schools to turn their nose up at me, or should it not be too much of a problem?

We're interested in moving abroad for a variety of reasons: the experience, better work life balance (for my wife at least) and hopefully to be able to save a bit of money.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

2. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

Some schools might turn up their noses but not all will. Some won't be bothered at all. Your best bet is to look at what jobs are on offer, apply and see what happens. Come back when you've got some offers and ask on here if you want to know more about certain places (just don't use any school names).

3. Erin_Rhys

Erin_Rhys Occasional commenter

Good luck. Let us know how you get on. I have taught in several countries and found it rewarding.

4. TonyGT

TonyGT Established commenter

There's only one situation where you won't have a chance, and that's if you don't try.