1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I really have it that bad? (Question about workload)

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by SnorkelingTeacher03, May 9, 2019.

1. SnorkelingTeacher03

SnorkelingTeacher03 New commenter

Hello,

I am currently working at my first "international" school (it's really a private bilingual school with nearly 100% of the students being local)....

As I am new to all of this, I am wondering whether or not the situation I am in could be improved by moving on to another school after I finish this contract. The main reason I am hesitant to leave is because this job allows me to live close to my wife's family. I would really hate to move my wife away from her family and not at least improve our life quality. However, if our lives (work/life balance) can be improved by moving on, then it is something we will have to sit down and discuss.

A little about my workload....

I am at a primary school

I teach three different classes with 42 students in each class (2 grade levels)

I have thirteen 40 minute class periods per week (fifteen 40 minute classes every other week...)

I have six 45 minute class periods per week (with two 80 minute extra curricular actives per week)

I have a total of 13 different lessons I have to prepare per week (this includes having to teach art, music, and PE)

Does this seem excessive?

This is my first experience at a real school since earning my teaching certificate. I had previously been teaching ESL for a few years.

Thank you!

2. PuRe

PuRe Occasional commenter