1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I quit?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by benson2081, Apr 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. benson2081

benson2081 New commenter

In the Easter holidays I have been given my dream job working with animals. I am an Math teacher currently, the new job have said they will hold it for me until I can start in July. My issue is I have verbally accepted an Math teacher position at another school a month back. I have not signed anything but am still feeling stressed about how I will word my letter taking back the job and the confrontation I may receive about being professional. So much so I am doubting leaving teaching for my dream job, it is less money and a much longer commute which makes me think maybe I should be safe with good money and career development, however what is fuelling me is the "what if".
    I became a teacher so I could get this role for my dream job and i'm worried if I abide by the rules to save upsetting the school I will always regret not going for my dream. Could anyone offer advice on what to do?

2. madmother

madmother New commenter

I'm a great believer in you don't ever want to live with 'what if'. If not taking your dream job would leave you with that feeling, then you should go for it. Yes, it may cause a bit of difficulty for the school involved as they will have to recruit again, but the sooner you are honest with them, explain the change in your circumstances (which could happen to anyone) and give them the opportunity to recruit, the better. You could only be unprofessional if you left it go to the last minute and didn't let them know.