1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I Qualify?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by TinklePrincess, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Hi everybody!

I hope you don't mind me posting on this forum but no-one answered me on the Teaching Assistant forum.
    I am a university student who is a little confused about her future, so if you could help me, I'd very much appreciate it!

I will be graduating with an Early Childhood Studies degree and hopefully EYPS (Early Years Professional Status) this year.
    I always assumed that I wanted to be a teacher, however, after not being successful in my PGCE application, I had the chance to re-evaluate my aspirations. I came to the conclusion that I would probably be better suited to being a teaching assistant right now as I will gain experience in actual schools, rather than nurseries, if I should ever want to re-apply for the PGCE. Also, it would allow me to start off with less responsibility, therefore allowing me to gain more confidence in myself as a quality practitioner.

I was just wondering if I would be qualified enough to apply for Teaching Assistants positions, and if so, when would be the best time to do so? Or would I need to complete some further training or studies first?

Many thanks for your time and any assistance you can offer :)

2. inky

inky Lead commenter

Reception? Really?

3. I wasn't claiming authority - but yes - Reception is EYFS not compulsory schooling for many children.

Happy to be enlightened by someone who 'knows'

4. invincible

invincible New commenter

But it is compulsory for some (those who turn 5 years of age in that time) and thus a Reception class needs a qualified teacher in it.

5. invincible

invincible New commenter