1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I have any chance?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Wannabeteacher100, Dec 22, 2015.

1. Wannabeteacher100

Wannabeteacher100 New commenter

I'm looking for some advice regarding my future prospects. I graduated from University with a 3rd class BA Graphic Design. I also hold a BTEC National Diploma in Art and Design (from college) and a Level 2 CACHE Supporting Teaching & Learning in Schools Certificate. After my degree, I worked as a marketing assistant for a few years for a local company before completing my Level 2 CACHE Certificate. Since completing my CACHE, I have being working for various supply agencies as a Teaching Assistant since September picking up a few days of supply work here and there. However, my long term ambition is to get a job teaching Design & Technology in a secondary school environment.

Firstly, do I have any chance of getting onto any sort of Teacher Training course with a 3rd class degree in Graphic Design? I'm aware a Schools Direct Course is out of my reach.

Secondly, if I did get accepted onto a PGCE course what subjects would a Design & Technology PGCE equip me to teach? Am I right in thinking it is different to say an English PGCE in that you don't just teach English, you'd have to teacher across all of the subjects in Design & Technology? What subjects would I be expected to teach on a D&T PGCE course?