1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I have a chance to teach abroad?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by linnasjere, Nov 29, 2015.

1. linnasjere

linnasjere New commenter

Hello everyone!

I am currently very interested in teaching abroad (mainly looking for positions in Asia or South America). I'm a Finnish teacher completing my second full-time school year as a secondary history and civics teacher. I teach in an international school with dozens of different nationalities and I also have a chance to teach in English. I'm fluent in English but I do have an accent. I have master's degree with major in history and minors in teacher studies, sociology and economics.

My main concerns are:

- How do I prove that I'm fluent in English? What certificates should I have? Will my accent be a big problem in job interviews?

- What are good resources I can study to become familiar with the UK curriculum and the terms associated with it? I'm worried I will sound unprofessional in a job interview because I come from a different educational system.

- Do I have enough working experience? I'm preparing for a year now, applying this time next year and hopefully will begin teaching abroad in August/September 2017. So I will have 3 years of full-time experience then. Also, I have held several part-time positions and I had an edutech start-up for two years - will these count at all?

- What kind of salary and working hours should I expect? I know this varies greatly but I'd appreciate some examples.

- Anything else I should know?

Thank you in advance! I will appreciate all the hints and tips you can give me to help me be prepared!

2. linnasjere

linnasjere New commenter