1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I go part-time???????

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by dt tech, Jun 22, 2011.

1. I have been teaching for 9 years (32yrs old) and enjoy teching my subject Design and Technology (Food Tech). Due to changes in the school timetable I have been under time tabled this year and picked up lessons in Art and PE which I have enjoed teaching and have some backgroud knowledge in. I have found out next year I am loosing my GCSE group's which I am not very happy about. This will make me even more under timetables and I don't want to be picking up cover lessons to make up my time-table as I have at points this year.
    So the big question do I go part-time and what effect will this have on my future carear. I don't hold any responsblity at the mowment and am happy been a teacher. But in the future if I want permotion or move on to a new school how will this look on my CV.
    Any advice welcome :)

2. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

Why not start looking for other jobs straight away. It might take some time to get a new job but at least you're earning a full salary, making full pension contribs etc. Going part time for a bit of a weak reason hints at a lack of commitment imo. You might have a bit of a c r a p year but you'd be wise to try and make the best of it. See it as an opportunity for prof dev. I know that's easy for me to say from my armchair but going part time just seems unnecessary unless you're at the end of your tether and you don't sound like that.

3. I do feel at the end of my tether and really don't want to be doing supply lessons next year.