1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I give it all up to stay at home for a few years??

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by ihatekids, Feb 20, 2019.

1. ihatekids

ihatekids New commenter

Please share your experiences/advice!
    I have been a teacher for 9 years in a mixture of full time and part time roles. I now have a great job in a lovely school working 3 days a week. I have a 13 month old son and have been back at work since Sept 2018...it has all been going well...I enjoy my job...
    Yet I can't shake the feeling that I should stay at home until my son is a bit older/in school. We are also considering expanding our family so this would have a huge impact in terms of childcare fees/career progression. I feel like this is a huge dilemma.
    I often think I would love to be a SAHP and be there for everything my children do, but I also enjoy my job and have worked hard to be where I am. I don't think I could manage working with 2 children, it also wouldn't make sense financially.
    I am going around in circles considering the options so wanted some advice from people who have been there.
    What are your experiences?
    Would I be stupid to give up a part time role?
    Will my future prospects be affected?
    Will I regret not being at home with my child/ren?
    Thank you in advance :) Mimi

2. eleanorms

eleanorms Occasional commenter