1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do I drop out of ANOTHER career?!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MissPrimary123, Sep 12, 2017.

1. MissPrimary123

MissPrimary123 New commenter

I've worked as a healthcare professional for 2 years but dropped out due to dislike of the profession. I took up teaching in hope I wouldn't dread going to work every morning but I was very naive! Teaching isn't as bad as my first career but it's not making me happy. I can't see myself doing it long term... it's just so draining. Literally my brain can't retain all I need to do, I'm quite overwhelmed. When I started I was enthusiastic and had some 'mojo'. I'm now in my third year and I feel like a husk of a teacher.

My problem is... what do I do next? I can't leave mid year. At my 'meet the teacher' meeting today after school the first question all the parents asked me was "Are you staying?! Please say you're planning on staying the whole year". Their last teacher left at Christmas and they had a string of supplies. I've also moved school each year in persuit of a school that suited me (3 schools in under 3 years doesn't look good... or does it? I'm good at interviews! :p)

I'm planning on staying the year to make sure the children get some consistency but how do I go about looking for a new career?? I just want to do something that I can leave when I finish for the day and pick up the next morning, rather than bring my workload home with me each night and every weekend.

This has been asked so many time on this website and others like it... but... what kind of jobs have people gone into after teaching?!

And more importantly where did they find the job?

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter