1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do fewer pupils need help with reading now?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by takethatno1fan, Dec 27, 2010.

1. takethatno1fan

takethatno1fan New commenter

I think this is quite difficult to answer. Some argue that more children are being identified as needing intervention which suggests children are continuing to struggle despite synthetic phonics.
    All I can say is I've been teaching SEN for over 7 years and the number of children being referred for assessment/intervention certainly aren't decreasing.

2. Thank u for replying.
    I wouldn't expect much improvement for as long as all words with some tricky-to-read letters remain as they are, e.g. read, could, would, should, you, your, one, said ....

3. Absolutely!
    Three of my grandchildren (aged 7, 5 and 5) are learning to read now and are flying along, but they all already have more books than I had by the age of 20.
    Their parents (and we as grandparents quite a bit too) started reading to them almost as soon as they were born. There was also endless chatter and lots of 'I spy' on car journeys. Their parents now also do all the reading homework they bring home very conscientiously.
    The younger two are now beginning to want to learn to read for themselves the books they first fell in love with and know or half-know, by heart: The Gruffalo, The Cat in the Hat ...
    And then I remember the kids I used to help as a reading volunteer, and I get crosser about English spelling than ever before.
    Words like
    one, who, know, you, your, could, should, said, good, have, call, there, put, high