1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do beards contain more poo than a toilet?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Duke of York, Jan 20, 2016.

1. Duke of York

Duke of York Star commenter

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-35350886

It seems that whilst beards attract bacteria, they can also grow antibiotics. The article says Trust Me I'm a Doctor on BB2 this evening will be advising on whether beards are good or bad for our health.

Whatever they advise, I've no intention of growing a beard though.

2. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

Good. I'd have to go off you big-time if you did!

3. jacob

jacob Lead commenter

I don't know why any assumption would be made that a beard (except some of the long straggly ridiculous ones, or the full "terrorist") would contain anything more than might be found on a man's face. Men sans beard, I assume, do not wash their face with more frequency, and the skin can have all sorts adhering to it that may have missed or dribbled from the mouth. One might make a case for the hirsute washing their mush more frequently because they know the odd bit of food can get lodged. It should not require some "doctor" to work this out, but as many young men have jumped on the bandwagon and grown the full "terrorist" perhaps some of them need to know.

4. grumpydogwoman

5. jacob

jacob Lead commenter

Do you also dislike; hairy heads, chests, legs, feet, pits, p ubes? Because dislike of facial hair is just as ridiculous.

6. grumpydogwoman

No. It's just beards! I don't know that it's ridiculous. Illogical. Oh, go on then. You can ridicule my foibles if you like!

7. Duke of York

Duke of York Star commenter