1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do all your class make 3 sublevels progress?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by teslagirls1, Jun 12, 2010.

1. teslagirls1

teslagirls1 New commenter

Hi,
    I am a year 2 teacher and my class have recently completed their SATS. The expectation at our school seems to be that all of the children should have made at least 3 sublevels of progress since when they joined me in September.Not all of my class have achieved this. Do all your children make this much progress in year 2 (apart from those who are SEN) ? Starting to think that I might not be that good a teacher! All advice/related experiences welcome!
    Thanks
    Tim

2. teslagirls1

teslagirls1 New commenter

Hi,
    I am a year 2 teacher and my class have recently completed their SATS. The expectation at our school seems to be that all of the children should have made at least 3 sublevels of progress since when they joined me in September.Not all of my class have achieved this. Do all your children make this much progress in year 2 (apart from those who are SEN) ? Starting to think that I might not be that good a teacher! All advice/related experiences welcome!
    Thanks
    Tim

3. oxfordblue

oxfordblue New commenter

No, not all of my class make 3 sublevels progress over a year. That is also the expectation in my school. In my opinion it is a totally unrealistic expectation. I know this doesn't help you but at least there's someone else in your position. I don't teach Year 2 though, I'm in Year 5.
    In reality they do need to make 2 sub levels progress from Year 2 to Year 6 to be on track - as far as I know!

4. oxfordblue you mean 2 levels between year 2 and 6! [​IMG]