1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Do all Literacy lessons need to involve writing?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by gossipgirl329, Apr 4, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm a PGCE student planning a literacy lesson for my Year 2s to introduce fantasy stories. I was just wondering if it is ok to have a literacy lesson that explores the concept of imagination without the children actually writing anything. I was thinking of using the book 'Millie's Marvellous Hat' and having the children design their own hats that they will wear during the term to help them travel through the different settings we explore. Do I need to get them to write a description of their hat or is one lesson without writing acceptable?
    Any words of wisdom appreciated!
    Thanks

2. Hi everyone,
    I'm a PGCE student planning a literacy lesson for my Year 2s to introduce fantasy stories. I was just wondering if it is ok to have a literacy lesson that explores the concept of imagination without the children actually writing anything. I was thinking of using the book 'Millie's Marvellous Hat' and having the children design their own hats that they will wear during the term to help them travel through the different settings we explore. Do I need to get them to write a description of their hat or is one lesson without writing acceptable?
    Any words of wisdom appreciated!
    Thanks

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

*Ssshhhhh* Don't tell anyone this...but sometimes, in my year 2, we go a whole week or more without actually writing in our literacy lessons. We cover reading or S&L objectives and sometimes lead up to writing, but not necessarily write.