1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Division with year 1

Discussion in 'Primary' started by emz123, Jun 13, 2010.

1. emz123

emz123 New commenter

Hi
    Just a question about teaching division in year 1 really
    How do people teach this? should I be doing it as sharing? or do I need to use the word divide?
    I was thinking of perhaps showing some objects being shared between 2 people on the smartboard then sharing between 3, 4 etc...
    Then I was going to show them how to divide on the number line letting them have a go themselves
    Then I was going to let them share some sweets using paper plates in pairs so just doing it practically at first.

Sorry Im a trainee so not really that sure- also what sort of numbers should I be dividing by do you think? obviously 2 would be best to start with.

Thanks in advance

2. emz123

emz123 New commenter

Hi
    Just a question about teaching division in year 1 really
    How do people teach this? should I be doing it as sharing? or do I need to use the word divide?
    I was thinking of perhaps showing some objects being shared between 2 people on the smartboard then sharing between 3, 4 etc...
    Then I was going to show them how to divide on the number line letting them have a go themselves
    Then I was going to let them share some sweets using paper plates in pairs so just doing it practically at first.

Sorry Im a trainee so not really that sure- also what sort of numbers should I be dividing by do you think? obviously 2 would be best to start with.

Thanks in advance