1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Distancing myself and not being so nice.

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Fliptopbox, Dec 22, 2010.

1. Hello all :)
    I'm a student teacher in my first placement as a year 1 teacher but recently Ive hit a bit of a wall in my work
    I'm doing well (I think so at least) but my mentor has highlighted that I am too nice to the children and I need to 'distance myself more' from the children. I know this a bad thing and something that undermimes my authority but I feel its hard to maintain behaviour and positive reinforcement without using stickers or yelling like some Mr Hyde esq character when I have to especially with a class so young who need as much support.
    I've observed teachers, I taken phrases and manerisms on board and really tried to better myself but I feel like I need more advice to make this issue right.
    Now I sat down and wrote an action plan for the post chrimbo term and I recognise that things I need to do but what else can I do?
    Thanks for your help in advance :)

2. Don't be too hard on yourself.
    It is very hard to get this right at the start because ultimately you want the children to like your company. However the most important thing for them is to you respect you - that will create a learning environment. Please do not think that the two are exclusive - you can achieve both given time. The bottom line is that all children need to understand your role in the classroom is to facilitate their learning rather than entertain them. Some might say Year 1 is too early for this approach but not in my opinion.