1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dissertation help on SEN

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by kat298, Oct 1, 2010.

1. HI there,
    I am currently in my final year at university studying for a degree in primary education and so am now having to begin my dissertation!
    I have decided to focus on SEN as this is a subject I am very interested in, more specifically I want to look at teaching strategies used to support children with SEN in both mainstream and special needs schools. Do you think this topic will be alright to write about?
    Any advice is welcome about this as I am open to any suggestions.
    Also, if anyone knows of any good journals or books around the subject of strategies used for SEN pupils I would really appreciate it.
    Thank You x x

2. Fuzzybrainjo

Fuzzybrainjo New commenter

Are you wanting to look at the strategies schools use to progress the children on the SEN register or look at classroom strategies different teachers use to help support children in their class with SEN? You could look at the different wave strategies that are used, i.e. wave 1, 2 and 3, if and why they are effective? I
    think you will also find strategies and intervention differ widely from school to school depending upon the training staff have received and the resources available. It may help to focus on one need type i.e. ASD or SLCN because if you are comparing mainstream to special schools this will help to narrow your comparison and help with your reading.