1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Disengaged boy in class, HELP!

Discussion in 'English' started by megstom, Dec 20, 2011.

1. Hi all, this is my first post on here. I am a student teacher, in the 3rd year of my degree. I currently habe a Year 4 class on placement.

I have a boy in my class who's writing is not very good. He writes with no spaces, no punctuation, and never makes any sense. Most of the time he can't even read back what he has written. He is a bright boy, and I personally feel his poor writing is due to disenagegment. He also has some behaviour problems which I also feel could be due to his lack of interest in writing.

Have any of you got any suggestions of how to engage this boy into wanting to write and actually enjoying it? His parents have also been asking if there is anything they can do at home. I'm not sure what to do, I know using stimulis that are of interest to him do get a better piece of writing but this doesn't always work.

Any ideas greatly appreciated!!
    Thanks

2. Hi all, this is my first post on here. I am a student teacher, in the 3rd year of my degree. I currently habe a Year 4 class on placement.

I have a boy in my class who's writing is not very good. He writes with no spaces, no punctuation, and never makes any sense. Most of the time he can't even read back what he has written. He is a bright boy, and I personally feel his poor writing is due to disenagegment. He also has some behaviour problems which I also feel could be due to his lack of interest in writing.